Frosting on the Cake

Last week I posted a recipe for basic vanilla cupcakes, but I’m guessing that most people would like some frosting with that. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of frosting– it’s just too sweet. I realize that viewpoint is a tad unusual 🙂  The main reason I didn’t post the frosting recipe is that it’s so common, simple, and well-known I didn’t think it necessary. But if you truly need something to put on your cake, here are some options.

Option One: Basic Vanilla Buttercream

  • 1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter
  • 1 t vanilla
  • ~4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • ~2 tablespoons milk

Using an electric mixer, cream butter and shortening with vanilla, then gradually add sugar and milk until the desired consistency is reached.  It’s that simple!

If you want a bright white frosting, substitute another 1/2 cup of shortening for the butter and use clear vanilla. If you want to be able to keep at room temperature, substitute the butter for shortening and water for the milk. But be warned, taking out the butter has a very depressing effect on overall flavor!

Option Two: Strawberries and Cream

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (or to taste)
  • 1 quart strawberries

Wash and dry your strawberries, then hull and slice them. Torte your cake layers and then stack them: a layer of cake, a layer of strawberries, a layer of cream, etc. until you reach the top. Then you have options: you can just leave it as layers of cake oozing strawberries and cream, or you can “frost” it as you would a normal cake with the remaining whipped cream. Just keep in mind that the resulting cake is deliciously moist and will sadly not keep long. As you can probably guess, this is my favorite way to eat the cake! And what could be a better spring dessert than strawberries and cream?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frosting on the Cake

  1. kristin says:

    I just ran across your post, and wanted you to know…you are not alone! 🙂 I, too, do not care for frosting. When I was young, I used to scrape all the frosting off the top of my cupcake and give it to my dad…now I give it to my hubby 🙂

    But thanks for the recipe, I can’t have naked cupcakes!!

    🙂
    –k

Leave a Reply

