Jasmine Brown Rice with Mushrooms and Leeks

These are many foods I love: mushrooms, jasmine brown rice, leeks, cheese, easy-over eggs. Actually, eggs in general. And because I have very limited meat consumption, eggs are not only delicious for me but an important protein source. Still, have you ever heard of too much of a good thing? Let me give you an example: for lunch Thursday I had a lovely little “quick quiche” (I’ll post a version of it at some point) using 2 eggs. For dinner Wednesday night I’d had French Toast, also using 2 eggs. For dinner Tuesday night I had a “breakfast burrito” with avocado, tomato, mushrooms, onions… and scrambled eggs. For dinner Monday night I had baked sweet potato slices topped with cheddar and–you guessed it–a fried egg. So when I came home Thursday night and started thinking about supper, the first thing that came to mind was a nice, simple, quick egg. Really. And it sounded good.

Not today...

I’m glad to say that there are still limits to my insanity. I discarded the fried egg idea, toyed with making pasta and marinara but just wasn’t in the mood, and went into my kitchen to forage instead. When I saw the mushrooms and leeks sitting quietly together, I knew they were meant to be. But the question remained: be WHAT? They would’ve been so happy in an omelet. I took another look around and spied my 5 lb bag of jasmine brown rice, possibly the most delicious rice in the universe. It was meant to be. I put the rice on to cook and went to look for recipes. The Whole Kitchen’s Mushroom Leek Pasta looked too good to pass, so I used it as my inspiration, naturally substituting my jasmine brown rice for her brown rice pasta.

You also have the Whole Kitchen to thank for referring me to Married with Dinner, whose comment on the failure of food bloggers to admit that the food they cook isn’t always perfect and beautiful encouraged me to admit my own egg-eating lunacy this week. I’ll probably regret it when my sister reads this post and starts making worried sisterly comments about my eating habits. I promise this week was an exception!

Jasmine Brown Rice with Mushrooms and Leeks

inspired by Mushroom and Leek Pasta at The Whole Kitchen

  • 1 leek
  • 3/4 cup mushrooms
  • 1 1/2 T olive oil
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1 T vodka
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup mozzerella cheese
  • 1 cup jasmine brown rice
    2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

Combine the rice and stock in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil five minutes and then turn the heat to low and cover for ~25 more minutes. Meanwhile, slice your mushrooms and leeks thinly and set aside. You may now go put your feet up until your rice is five minutes from being done.

At that point, heat a tablespoon of the olive oil in a small frying pan. Toss in your mushrooms and cook until golden. Pull them out and set aside, then put your onions, leeks, and spices in the pan (with the rest of the oil if needed) and cook until tender. Add a dash of lemon juice and the vodka just long enough to deglaze the pan, then take them off the heat and mix with your mushrooms, mozzerella, and cooked rice.

By the way, for anyone who may have been wondering why I rely so heavily on Creative Commons and public domain photographs, there are are two reasons: 1) old photographs are awesome and 2) the simple fact is, I do not currently own a digital camera and pictures taken with a webcam are just not pretty. See exhibit A below. I rest my case.

Why taking pictures with a webcam is a bad idea!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jasmine Brown Rice with Mushrooms and Leeks

  1. Thanks for the shout out for The Whole Kitchen! And I love your variation with rice – YUM!

Leave a Reply

