Chocolate Cherry Pavlova

I started noticing Daring Bakers’ posts a couple of years ago and thought they looked like fun, so when I started blogging myself I thought I might as well join the club. The basic idea is that bloggers from all over the internet all make the same recipe during the same month and post about it. So behold me, posting!

Web cam picture again-- sorry! I realize it sadly resembles a cowpie, but it tasted phenomenal.

Blog-checking lines: The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers’ to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book Chocolate Epiphany by Francois Payard.
Since Dawn chose the challenge for this month, I thought I’d refer you to her for the recipe. I followed her precisely on the meringue and the mousse (except for sustituting in kirsch  for the Grand Marnier), but I branched out for the drizzle and made it from cherry juice  instead. Delicious!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Cherry Pavlova

  1. Hello and welcome to the Daring Bakers’ and congratulations on your very successful results and the photo is stunning well done on this challenge. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  2. Ruth H. says:

    Well done! The challenges are a lot of fun, and it is great to have your contribution! If I liked cherries, I think this would have been the way to go… It looks beautiful, though!!

  3. Gourmandrea says:

    Good job on your challenge, I found it is hard to photograph with the mousse and meringue being brown so I cheated and used some white mousse too. I am loving the idea of a cherry drizzle yummm

  4. literarydelights says:

    Thanks, everyone! It was definitely fun and DELICIOUS– possibly the best mousse I’ve had in my life and my co-workers agree 🙂 I was very happy with my choice of drizzle/garnish; dark chocolate and cherries are a match made in heaven! Maybe some day I’ll even get a real digital camera so my photos can do justice to the food.

Leave a Reply

