Peach Gelato

I have to admit, when I saw the Daring Bakers’ challenge this month my heart sank. Three reasons: a) I hate cake and ice cream mixed together, it just makes a soggy mess b) the whipped cream content was astronomical and c) since it’s a frozen treat I can’t pawn it off on my co-workers like I normally would (it would certainly melt on the way). So I cheated and used all my own ideas, mainly to cut out the cream and keep it to a small size. The challenge called for 3 components: ice cream, swiss roll, and sauce, but indicated flexibility on flavor. I made gelato, used a leftover cupcake and homemade blackberry-peach jam for the roll, and more jam for the sauce. Result? Good, but I won’t make it again as that combination. The gelato, on the other hand, was delicious and really easy.

Peach Gelato

based on a recipe from the LA Times

3 peaches, pitted and finely chopped
1 6-oz container of fruit-on-the-bottom peach yogurt
Freeze the peach pieces. Then blend them in a food processor or blender with the yogurt and refreeze until the desired consistency (it will get very hard if you leave it for a long time, take it back out to soften it up). Simple. Healthy. Delicious.
Warning: this recipe is hard on the blender.

Since I was very loose in my interpretation of the challenge recipe, it will gave you a very different product, but if you like cake and ice cream I encourage you to check it out:
The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Gelato

  1. nice improv! i too prefer recipes I can bring to work and ‘pawn off’. it made me smile to read that because i’m exactly the same way!

  2. Renae says:

    Oh yum! I can sympathize about the cream, which is why I made a sorbet as one of the “ice creams”.

Leave a Reply

