BBQ sauce

I never used to like barbeque- the sauce was always too sweet or two vinegary or just off somehow. Then I met Corky’s in Memphis. SO good. Unfortunately, I don’t live in Memphis, meaning that I had to come up with my own BBQ recipes. It’s easy, quick, and I love it.

BBQ Sauce
1 6-oz. can tomato paste
3 oz. molasses
2 T. red wine vinegar
1/2-1 hot chili, minced
1/4 onion, minced
2 cloves garlic
dash lemon juice
few drops fish sauce
sprinkle ground cloves
salt and pepper to taste
Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and cook over low heat until the flavors have infused and are consistent throughout. Season further to taste.
Variation: You may use Worcestershire sauce instead of some or all of the lemon, fish sauce, and cloves, but I’m not fond of Worcestershire and like having control over the proportions of the individual ingredients.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

