Sick Day Egg Drop Soup

I’ve been a little droopy lately. Not actually SICK, which would mean I could take the day off work and lie around. Just a bit limp, with a scratchy/swollen throat. Where’s a fever when you need one? Anyway, one of the byproducts of feeling under the weather is a total lack of interest in food. I don’t want anything spicy. Or sour. Or bitter. Or very sweet or salty. I don’t like the idea of bland food either. And definitely nothing with an actual texture that would rub on my throat. No thanks. Also, I don’t want to have to spend any amount of time prepping my food. With that list of dislikes, you wouldn’t think my choice of dinner would be anything a healthy person would want to touch, would you? You’d be wrong! This egg drop soup is mild and smooth textured, but the flavor is earthy and delicious. I usually only get around to eating it when I’m not feeling well, but it would make a good dinner or a fabulous appetizer at any time.

Egg Drop Soup

1 t. olive oil
1/4 small onion, finely diced
1 portobello stem, julliened
1 1/4 cups chicken broth
2 t. grated fresh ginger
dash cayenne pepper
drop fish sauce
1 egg, lightly beaten

Heat the oil in the bottom of a small saucepan; soften the onion and mushroom pieces in it. Add the chicken stock and spices. Bring to a boil, then whisk briskly as you pour in the beaten egg in a thin stream. The egg should cook into delicate filaments as soon as it hits the water; as soon as the egg is all in and cooked your soup is ready to eat.

Note: Good news! My wonderful parents got me a camera, hence the pictures on my last couple of posts! Bad news: I’m an idiot an forgot to take a picture of my soup. Sorry, I wasn’t feeling well 😦 I’ll try to add a picture next time I make this.

Extra note for those who worry: I’m feeling better now. Which is why I’ve got the energy to start posting again.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

