Daring Bakers: Joconde

Ah, Daring Bakers. Yet another month in which I *almost* successfully completed the challenge. The Joconde was fun. It was even pretty easy. The problem came with assembly. I’d done a blue-and-white joconde, so I decided to fill it with a layer of cran-blueberry sauce, then pale blue pastry cream and top with mandarin orange slices in a decorative spiral pattern. Pretty, right?
Wrong. My “pale blue” filling turned pale green when I added the egg yolk,  and nothing firmed up, resulting in oozing cran-blueberry at the bottom and collapsed walls/uneven filling at the top. Before you ask what happened to the orange slices, take another look at the picture and think about how well that bastion of sound engineering would hold up to the addition of another layer. In the end, I decided I’d better just take a picture–quick–before the entire creation collapsed under me. So the orange didn’t make it on. In its defense, though, it was quite tasty.
Blog-checking lines: The January 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Astheroshe of the blog accro. She chose to challenge everyone to make a Biscuit Joconde Imprime to wrap around an Entremets dessert.
If you would like the recipe, I’ll refer you back to Accro. The piping is fun; besides the stripes I tried to use, I went for random patterns. Good times.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daring Bakers: Joconde

  1. Kim says:

    I too tried to make a blue design that turned greenish! I guess I didn’t think about the yellowy color of the batter and that blue and yellow make green. 🙂 At least it tasted good, because that’s all that really matters in the end. Nice job on the challenge!

Leave a Reply

