Daring Bakers: Panna Cotta and Florentines

I must admit to being slightly baffled by this challenge. I mean, panna cotta is not by any stretch of the imagination (at least my imagination) a baked good. I guess that’s the reason for the Florentines, but there again I see no clearly discernable link between the cookies and the panna cotta. Not that I really mind, I’ve been meaning to give panna cotta another try. Last time it tasted great but there was some separation of layers. For this challenge I decided to try the chocolate variation. The good news is that it was very easy, simple, and I had no problem at all getting it to set up correctly. And it tasted like…chocolate pudding. Good chocolate pudding, mind you, but after the amount of cream and Ghirardelli I’d put in it I’d expected to be slightly more blown away. Still, it’s a recipe worth remembering since it allows you to whip up an elegant dessert in only a few minutes (plus chill time).
My Florentines did not spread properly and came out a little chewy; I think I should have let the butter cool a bit before mixing in the rest. Still, the challenge was fun–thanks, Mallory!
Blog-checking lines: The February 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mallory from A Sofa in the Kitchen. She chose to challenge everyone to make Panna Cotta from a Giada De Laurentiis recipe and Nestle Florentine Cookies.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daring Bakers: Panna Cotta and Florentines

  1. Me says:

    two comments:
    1-I had to crack up at your ‘moroccan inspired’ food. just sayin’ 😉 It looked yummy.
    2-Yum. Though I’m sad it wasn’t more ‘panna cotta’-like…. still. yum.

Leave a Reply

