Daring Bakers: Yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake Ring

I loved this challenge! I chose to go with the suggested cinnamon version (thanks, Jamie!) and it was utterly delicious. I’d meant to do one with Ria’s version also, but my little sister rebelled at the idea of garam masala in her breakfast. Maybe another time. Since I wanted to make it for visitors, I made the dough 2 nights in advance and stashed it, well greased and covered in cling wrap, in the refrigerator. It rose in that chilly environment a bit more than I had anticipated it would, but it worked fine and I would definitely be willing to do that step ahead in future. And will I be making this again in the future? Absolutely! Using meringue filling is so brilliant I am only stunned that I never thought of it earlier. I’m also scheming to use the dough for making Schneck–await further bulletins 🙂 You can find the recipe for yourself at Life’s a Feast.
Blog-checking lines: The March 2011 Daring Baker’s Challenge was hosted by Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast. Ria and Jamie challenged The Daring Bakers to bake a yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

