Maple Mousse on French Toast

The challenge this month was to make maple mousse and put it in an edible container. (Speaking of which: this is the Daring BAKERS, right? panna cotta and now mousse….both delicious but neither baked. Call me confused. But I’ll be here patiently waiting for a real baking challenge–and maybe something savory for once.) Anyway, I started out by making meringue shells and filling them with mousse, but I decided that it wasn’t very creative. The contrasting textures worked well but it was a bit too sweet overall. Then I created thin little cranberry flavored cookies to fill with mousse. The  cookies were good, the mousse was good, but together they were just too SWEET. Oh well. I might add that the mousse itself is so overpoweringly sweet that it needs something not-so-sweet accompanying it to have a chance at success. I’m a big fan of maple but I don’t know if I’ll make this recipe again; I don’t know that the mousse highlights its flavor adequately. Anyway, that failure convinced me to give up on wild creativity and just do what I’d wanted to do from the start: drop a dollop of maple mousse on French toast and call it breakfast. It was delicious.
Blog-checking lines: The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maple Mousse on French Toast

  1. I had a few failures making mine too – it is fun trying though. It does look great just on the French toast though.

    • literarydelights says:

      Yes, the failures were fun too. Just a little overpowering in their sweetness. But all’s well that ends well!

  2. Erin says:

    Maple and french toast is such a classic combination. Delicious!!

  3. A lovely breakfast indeed. Evelyne

  4. RuediG says:

    The pics did make me hungry! And who says simplicity is not creative? Sometimes the most creative things are staring us in the face waiting to be discovered, and this looks like a winner!

Leave a Reply

