Daring Bakers: “Scones”

SconesThis week’s challenge caught me by surprise. I’ve gotten used to DB challenges being complicated, time consuming, and sweet. Biscuits, or as Audax names them, scones, were a lovely change. They were simple and easy to make and delicious. My one mistake was on the cookie cutter–at the last minute I couldn’t find my round cutter and had to use a scalloped one which unfortunately compressed the edges a little. Still, the biscuits came out light with a good crumb and I vastly enjoyed them. Biscuit recipes are a bit funny–they’re one of the food items where everyone seems to have a firm opinion on which recipe is right and view all others with horror. Personally, I’ve had good luck with a number of recipes over the years, and this recipe is definitely a keeper.  I ate my biscuits both plain with jam and went all-American and made myself a bacon-egg-&-cheese biscuit. (I know, I know, but they’re quite good homemade.)

Bacon egg and cheese biscuitBlog-checking lines: Audax Artifex was our January 2012 Daring Bakers’ host. Aud worked tirelessly to master light and fluffy scones (a/k/a biscuits) to help us create delicious and perfect batches in our own kitchens!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

