Daring Bakers: Schichtorte

I wasn’t familiar with this month’s challenge recipe, and the method was certainly new: bake/broil a cake miniscule layer by miniscule layer, one on top of the next. Weird, yeah? As soon as a I read the recipe, I wondered how the result avoided complete dryout. In fact, it doesn’t and the resulting cake is dry and solid. According to my parents, it’s very popular in Indonesia where a slice might be brought along as a little gift when visiting a friend. I guess a little dryness is appreciated in a tropical climate?! Anyway, it’s the sort of thing that was worth trying once but I don’t expect to ever do again. I prefer my deserts soft and melty 😉
For a recipe, I used elements of two, although I 2/7th the recipe (yes, I’m crazy): http://blog.webicurean.com/easyrecipe-print/1572-0/ and http://www.larecetadelafelicidad.com/en/2012/05/baumkuchen.html#

BattersSchichtorte

Blog-checking lines: The January 2014 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Francijn of “Koken in de Brouwerij”. She challenged us all to bake layered cakes in the tradition of Baumkuchen (tree cake) and Schichttorte (layered cake).

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

