Daring Bakers: Yafawi Sfeeha

How happy was I to see this month’s challenge? SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HAPPY! I love baking, but lately I’ve found Daring Bakers a little frustrating in the proportion of sweet to non-sweet challenges. Not that I don’t love sweets, but here’s the problem: DB challenges tend to make generous quantities and recipes for baked goods generally shouldn’t be dramatically scaled down. There is only one of me. I do not need two trays/pans/ whatever full of something sweet to eat, all by myself, within the 2 days or so before it goes stale. No thank you. So thank you, Manal, for picking a savory recipe that I can eat all by myself in good conscience! Better yet, it’s a Middle Eastern family recipe!

These were delicious and surprisingly filling. I was surprised but delighted that despite using all the substitutions in the recipe, they still came out tasting distinctly Middle Eastern.

Yafawi SfeehaBlog-checking lines: The July Daring Bakers’ Challenge was brought to us by Manal from Manal’s Bites. She introduced us to an authentic Palestinian dish from Java that is served as a main meal along with a bowl of soup or a salad. The “Yafawi Sfeeha” or also known as “Milwayeh” which means twisted, is crispy yet tender and full of flavor.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

